PRESS NOTE

21st Foundation Day celebrated by SMS Varanasi

Embrace Entrepreneurship and become Role Model for others: Gokarn

- 13 employees including 3 faculty members honoured for their uninterrupted service
- Around 20 teams from the city colleges participating
- Six inter-institutional competitive events and a musical evening extravaganza

VARANASI: School of Management Sciences (SMS), Varanasi completed two decades of its existence on Kashi's soil. It was in 1995 that the Institution started with small premises in Hathua Market (Lahurabir Varanasi) where around 30 students took admission for the flagship PGDM (Full-Time) programme under the stewardship of the legendary Management teacher Late Prof. Mukund Lal who not only gave the citizens of Purvanchal region a professional education base but made established Universities and Institutions across North India toil for competing with the new comer SMS. Ever since then SMS has grown by leaps and bounds with around 1300 students and over 45 Full-time highly qualified and committed faculty members.

Inaugurating the function, the Commissioner (Varanasi Division) Shri Nitin Ramesh Gokarn said that it was heartening to note the way SMS shapes the youth energy. He asked the young generation to stop running after jobs and become a magnet to attract talent through entrepreneurship. He also asked the students to go for internships at Varanasi Development Authority, Varanasi Nagar Nigam and other local government bodies and suggest mechanisms to improve the state of affairs of the city. He said the institution is moving towards adulthood and the fact that Indian population comprises of 65 % youth makes it imminent to become role model for others.

Presiding over the function, the Vice Chancellor of MGKV, Prof. Prithvish Nag said that the future of SMS is very bright and it is the right time to venture into newer vocational courses as the Institute not only has the academic infrastructure but also innovative ways to take lead in this segment. He said he was happy to note that SMS students have been performing their best in

University examinations and was hopeful that the trend would continue. In his welcome address the Director of the Institute, Prof. P. N. Jha elaborated the achievements of the Institute in the past two decades and attributed the same to the vision of the legendry Founder Director Late Prof. Mukund Lal.

In a rare event, SMS Varanasi honoured its 13 employees for rendering their uninterrupted services for 20, 15 and 10 years to the Institution. It is amazing to find that five of them have been here since inception of the Institution, they include the Registrar Shri Sanjay Gupta, Librarian Smt. Pratima Bhargava, Accountant Shri Shantanu Mukherji, Driver Shri Harish Kumar Yadav and Cleaner Smt Shakuntala Devi. For completing fifteen years of their exemplary services to SMS, three faculty members, Dr. Alok Kumar (Professor and Dean R&D), Shri Krishna Kant Bajpai (Associate Prof.) and Shri Anand Prakash Dube (Assistant Prof.) and three staff members Shri PB Singh (Project Manager), Shri Grijesh Singh Gautam (Assistant Librarian) and Shri Rajesh Kumar Gupta (Grade-IV staff) find place in honour list. Further the Director Prof Pinak Nath Jha too has completed a decade of his association with SMS for which he has been honoured. Electrician Shri Ramesh Kumar too was felicitated for completing ten years at SMS Varanasi. The honours were done by Shri SK Singh, Dr. MP Singh during the evening after culmination of the day-long programme.

The teams participating include FMS-BHU, Faculty of Commerce-BHU, MPMIR-BHU, MGKV, FMT-HCPG College, IMS-SHEPA, Vasantha College for Women, Sunbeam College for Women, Ashoka, SAMS, Ambition, Dhirendra Mahila PG College amongst prominent ones in addition to the host teams from SMS Varanasi and sister Institution SMS Technical Campus, Lucknow. The six competitive events included Solo Song, Solo Dance, Antyakshari, Ad-Making & Rangoli, Photography and Business Quiz.

The Programme was coordinated by Mrs. Pallavi Pathak (Assistant Professor) while the Vote of thanks was proposed by Prof. K. S. Mishra (Dean-CS). The winners were given prizes and certificates by the Director.

•